Categories
Uncategorized

Staff Spotlight: Vicki Morrison, Admin

Vicki graduated from Spartanburg Methodist College in 1978 with an Associate’s Degree in Business and has worked with the JFT team as a paralegal and other various capacities since 2001. With over 30 years of experience in the legal field, Vicki continues to be a valuable asset to Thompson Dove Law Group! During her role as a paralegal, she worked primarily in the contested adoption area, while also providing paralegal support services to many of the firm’s private adoptive placements. Her work has included close contact with prospective adoptive parents and birth parents who have worked with the firm.

After retiring, Vicki returned to Thompson Dove Law Group where she now works part-time as an Administrative Assistant. She assists in filing and maintaining office records, talking with previous adoptive and birth families, and special projects. Though the years, she has felt honored to work with so many wonderful families.

Here are a few “get to know you” questions we asked Vicki:

What is a favorite/most rewarding part of your job?

Being a part of the team that brings forever families together. I love coming in to the office and being with my co-workers.  Adoption will always be my heart.

Describe the circumstances that led you to choose this area of work:

I started working in the legal field in 1983.  I had a friend from many years past that was working here.  She reached out to me and that is how I ended up worked for Fletcher D. Thompson and James Fletcher Thompson.

Is there a quote or particular value that inspires you to keep going on the hard days:

“We’ll be fine.”  This came from Nancy Hodges who is one of the retired Adoption Counselors for Jim.   She  would say this when things were going crazy and we would be running around like crazy.

Name your top 3 podcasts or books:

Most of the books that I read these days are children’s books.  One of my favorite authors is James Herriot.  I do not like anything that has a sad ending.  Everyday life can be sad, so when I read or watch a movie, I want it to be uplifting and happy. 

What do you enjoy doing when you’re not working?

Spending time with my granddaughter.  She is the absolute light of my life. 

What’s your enneagram type and wing?

Well first I had to look up what a enneagram is.  Please note, I am not embarrassed to admit that I did not know what a enneagram was.  According to the test that I took, I am a Type 8. 

This is a picture of me and my granddaughter.  None of my pets are included.  I have a black lab and a chocolate lab and three cats.  

Do you have a favorite local place to eat, relax, or play?

Restaurant – Stephen W in Newberry, SC.  Chic-fil-A if I am with my granddaughter. 

What do you love about living in South Carolina?

The people, the southern charm and our beautiful beaches.

Contact Us Today